She’s Come Undone

I never imagined that blogging would become a daily discipline.   As a matter of fact, I wish this whole Hitchcockian scenario would end; but I fear this is only the beginning.

What fresh Hell did I suffer today?  Yesterday?  It appears that we have a neighborhood sniper on our hands, and if I wasn’t afraid before, well I am downright petrified now.  We live in the middle of nowhere in a town of 250 people.  Kleinfeltersville is the sleepy town of country folk, incredible beauty and, to be honest, a few of us aren’t wrapped too tightly.  It is not uncommon to hear gun shots, as our neighbors have a shooting range next door.  Enck’s Gun Barn is right down the road, although he has moved his business, and he is far enough away that I don’t hear those random shots in the middle of the day, or night.  We are surrounded by hunters, including my long suffering husband, who was not alarmed when I called him yesterday, hysterical and barely able to take a breath for the panic attack was full blown.

“Someone just shot a raccoon in the back yard.  The shot CAME FROM OUR YARD.  Should I call the police?”  I think it worthy to note that I love animals; everyone and any one who knows me, knows this.  I am the proud owner of a cat shelter, where my feline friends are free to roam the seven plus acres at their leisure.  The sight of that poor raccoon led to a melt down, and it was in this precise hysterical state that I found myself blubbering to my man.  He tried to calm me by giving me a multitude of explanations, although not one of them panned out.  I put this into the archives of my exhaustive brain files, and went to bed a bit more at ease.

This morning I stuck to my routine.  Up at 6:30 and out the door by 7, I heard another gun shot, coming from the same direction as yesterday.  Hindsight is 20/20, and I know now that going into the woods, mace and rake in hand, was as dangerous a thing as I have ever done.  I knew this random lunatic could shoot me, yet I was so enraged that I screamed:

“Don’t f*** with a mother****er.”  I cried out today, as I did yesterday, and asked who was in my yard.  No response.  I phoned Dwain, and received the same response as yesterday:

“Honey, your sister is not on the farm trying to shoot you, if that’s what you think.”

If he only knew.  If he would just listen, and trust me-he might be as alarmed, if not enraged as his wife.  I wanted to call the State Police barracks, but what will I tell them, pray tell?  I put my golden retriever in the jeep and started off down the road.  (After a knock down, drag out argument with God, in which I asked him had I not suffered enough through my life?  I ranted and raved, then ended up on my knees, asking for mercy and forgiveness.)  I prayed, and I asked him to please send me someone who cared enough, was safe enough, and who truly believed my plight.

Driving down the dirt road, I ran into my loving and validating neighbor Rosie.  I stopped the jeep and interrupted he walk with her pit-bull.  I told her my story, Reader’s Digest version of course, and awaited her response.

Michele, I heard those shots myself.  It concerned me because every one is working, and it did indeed sound as if it came from your place.”

I am not sure if this makes me feel better, or outrageously worse.  And as I hiked the hills of Camp Mack this morning, I found myself wondering how much a bullet proof vest would run me:  tomorrow is my brother’s concert in Philadelphia.  She will be there.  Sadly, knowing the children and husbands will also be attending, that is of little if no comfort at all.

Leave a Reply

